Free E Waste Pick-Up in Southern California (50+ lbs)
Call us at: (800) 924-0884, Mon - Sat 8:00am - 7:00pm
Data destruction of your hard drive, before recycling your computers, will help you sleep well! You pressed delete, so why is the data still recoverable? And, what you can do about it. Here you'll learn:
Call us today at: (800) 924-0884 to see if you qualify for a free pick-up.
Doesn't DELETE mean gone for life, never to be seen again?
I first started using computers at the age of 12 (7th grade typing class) and acquired my own at the age of 15 around 1989. A couple years later I was on Prodigy dial-up Internet, those were the days, huh.
My favorite pass-time then was to hang out in chat rooms. I was probably a member to 30 or more at any one time. I just loved jumping in and taking the show.
My first machine lasted I'd say five years, and being a teenager it had to, because new top of the line computers were around $2,500.
When the inevitable time came to upgrade, I received my new Compaq and was challenged to move all the files from my old machine, via floppy drive, over to my new machine, which had a CD writer.
I wish I knew about
"Oh-well, out with the old, and in with the new."
Before I threw it in the garbage, one by one, I put the files in the desktop trash bin and hit the empty trash bin command. I worked patiently and believed I was permanently deleting every file left on my old pc.
Growing up one of my chores was to transfer our trash into the garbage cans outside and twice a week - move the cans to the street. By morning the cans would be empty. Very impressive and efficient stuff, I thought.
So based on my experience, when I put something in the trash and then took the steps to empty the trash container, soon after the trash would be gone... for life, never to be seen again.
What actually happens when you empty the pc trash bin?
As you know, when you delete a file it then gets moved to your trash bin. Then you 'Empty the Trash Bin' and you would think, the files in there should be gone FOREVER.
I mean after all, you went through the process twice!
If it was really an accident that you deleted a file, shame on you, the machine made you verify that you really do want to delete the file. And you selected YES, more than once.
End of story, right...!
When you hit delete and empty the trash bin, the computer removes the 'deleted' files from the file system directory, but keeps the original versions on the hard drive.
I wish I knew that 20 years ago!
Luckily, no one ever found my old machine and discovered all my user names and passwords to to all those chat rooms. That could have been trouble! You know that's silly compared to the highly sensitive data you and I have on our machines now.
Why do we call it delete when that's not what happens?
You're still left with the questions... Why in such an advanced, impressive, efficient world do we call the Delete button, the 'Delete' button, when it simply does not delete anything? And, why haven't we fixed this?
According to the Apple, Inc. Thesaurus synonyms (alternative or equivalent) words for delete are:
The list above does not come close to explaining why a file still remains on the hard drive, yet has only been removed from the file directory, once you have deleted it.
Since I mainly use MACs, which as you know are made by Apple, Inc., I think I may send them a letter requesting they correct their error of mislabeling the delete button and have them change it to the 'Hide' button or something similar.
The theory is that this is done to allow you the ability to recover files from a computer crash or something. To me that's the weakest reasoning on Earth. When you decide redundantly to delete a file, I believe you mean it.
Methods and shortcomings in data destruction
Apparently, you must run more advanced methods for true data eradication. My in depth research and experience indicates the following:
Known shortcomings of these methods:
Recommended, combined data destruction methods
According to the
With that said, I highly recommend using our suggested free data destruction/overwriting software program, which you can acquire and run by filling out the form up on the right side of this page.
We will then schedule a pick-up of your ewaste and have your hard drive physically destroyed by shredding it into small pieces in our recycling stream.
Schedule your data destruction, recycling pick-up today!
All Electronics Recycling is currently picking up most everything with an electric cord in your neighborhood (commercial or residential) for reuse or recycling.
So, if you want a complete all-in-one solution to destroy your data and recycle your computer waste for free, I suggest filling out the form up on the right or calling us now at (800) 924-0884 to be scheduled in our pick-up routes.
P.S. Also, please ask your friends, family, and colleagues to leave you their 'e waste' so we may pick it all up on the same trip as well. We can always come back next month, although that may increase our carbon footprint, so please act now.
HARD DRIVE SHREDDING
We'll contact you right
away to arrange it.